hezatown

Internet diary ヾ(๑╹◡╹)ノ"

Happenings and cute things I like.

Live like SpongeBob, make every day special

I did in fact not go out (almost) every day this past week. It’s been too hot. I spent several days at home, working my way through my research assistant tasks and binge watching Nana.

Girl in a jacket

It’s a great tragedy that one of the great works of literature of our time remains unfinished, isn’t it? I read and enjoyed the comics as a teen, but revisiting it as an adult I can relate to the story so much more. Sigh, the ups and downs of early adulthood.

I ventured out to a park I had driven past a few times and was curious about. It was nice. It had a lake. I got mango ice cream from a street vendor who didn’t speak English. We had a lovely interaction. The ice cream wasn’t very good but it helped against the heat.

Girl in a jacket

Almost missing the bus taking selfies.

Girl in a jacket

Girl in a jacket

Thursday was a special and flowerful day.

Girl in a jacket

Girl in a jacket

Girl in a jacket

Saturday meant the much anticipated return to South Coast Botanic Garden, whining about being too hot, and seeking refuge from the sun on shady paths surrounded by trees and bushes.

Girl in a jacket

Girl in a jacket

Girl in a jacket

I found a plant that smelled just like one my mom used to keep in the bathroom when I was little. Turns out they’re closely related.

Girl in a jacket

The day later turned into evening on a picnic blanket in Hollywood Lake Park.

Sunday was spent walking around the Grove.

Girl in a jacket

Girl in a jacket

Girl in a jacket

New dress!

I went with a friend, but when he needed to leave I didn’t feel finished yet. I ended up strolling about by myself for hours, having cake while sipping on lemonade, and getting cozy in a chair at Barnes & Noble reading a new book. I used to frequently enjoy walking around shops by myself, but I never do it anymore. I guess because so much of my shopping is online nowadays?

Girl in a jacket

I want to warmly recommend The Pillow Book by Sei Shonagon. It is the diary of a gentlewoman in the Empress’ court in the Japanese Heian Period, in the 900s to be precise. She describes events attended, court gossip, and complains about not finding parking and flies being loud when she’s trying to sleep. It’s simply a delight. (Skip pages 12-14 if you’re sensitive to animal cruelty, because… yikes.)

I’ll end this long post with some pictures from yesterday, from my favorite trail Fryman Canyon Trail. Apparently it’s also called the Betty Dearing Trail.

Girl in a jacket

Girl in a jacket

Favorite people, favorite places. Sigh. I love LA.

Home

Hi. I’m Heza. I’m a sad grad student in Hawaii. I want to post things on the internet, so I’ve made an old-timey blog. I like being in nature, cute outfits, fun adventures with friends, and snacks.

I have an instagram

Archive